The big questions for the CRAOL Coordinating Committee when planning Féile 2020 back at the start of the year were hotel, workshops, guest speakers, topics  and  theme.  Then Covid 19 came along, and the questions became: numbers, who should attend?  conference room size, social distance, and PPE. The questions then became: can we and should we hold Féile at all?   The  Committee thought long and hard about it.  How could we hold Féile virtually; make it interesting and engaging for the attendees?   Well, when you have an excellent Technical Team working on it, the answer is “yes you can”! This was a new venture for CRAOL, and, given this year’s theme Remote but not Distant, we felt it was something we had to do.  The Craol Coordinating Committee would like to thank everyone who contributed to making this a success.

Our Guests for the opening session were Catherine Martin TD, Minister for Media, Tourism, Arts, Culture, Sport, and the Gaeltacht and Michael O Keeffe, CEO, Broadcasting Authority of Ireland.



Our 4 Workshop were attended by 96 people and facilitated by:                                                                                              Engaging your Community during COVID-19Dorothee Meyer Holtkamp Near FM  & Amy Horan Phoenix FM.                    Student Radio & young people in broadcasting–  Paula Healy & Eoghan Holland, Flirt FM.                                        Broadcasting Remotely- Equipment & Software –  Alan Byrne, Dundalk FM.                                                                                      Risk Assessment for Stations –  Marian Barnard– Carmichael Centre

An Open Session on the Community Media Draft Policy was presented by Sean Ó Siochrú, NEXUS

Plenary Guest Speakers were:                                                                       Dr Rosemary Day-Head of Department of Media, and Communication studies at Mary Immaculate College University of Limerick.                     Ray Burke – Manager Wired FM.                                                                       Michael Nicolai – President-AMARC Europe.                                                Karen Deignan– Director of Sustainability Works.                                         The Plenary Session was chaired by  Jeff Murphy– vice Chair of Craol

Achievement Awards – Video of Achievement Awards can be accessed Here                                                                      Over 90 people tuned in to the Awards and there were 33 entries to the 2020 Achievement Awards and thank you to all stations who submitted applications. The standard was particularly high this year, and all entries were deemed worthy of an award, be it Bronze, Silver or Gold. They were judged by a four person panel – Dr Rosemary Day, Declan Gibbons, Paula Healy, and Pat Quinn. In addition to the very high standard, the entries submitted demonstrated the variety and diversity of programming on Community Radio and the social benefits being delivered to communities around the country.   A list of the entries and the judges’ comments can be accessed Here. 2020 Achievement Awards Judges Comments

Craol would like to that all the contributors to the Awards Ceremony

Paul Skinnader, Executive Director, Pobal                                                                                                                                            Sina Theil- Musician                                                                                                                                                                                      Sinead McNulty – Camogie Association                                                                                                                                                Frank Phelan- Poet  NCRD  Poem                                                                                                                                                                Denise Charlton CEO Community Foundation for Ireland                                                                                                                Takudzwa Bvungidzire  accompanied on piano by Msimelelo Carvin Makapela -Poem from participants on CFI Training     Steve Bennett- Comedian                                                                                                                                                                  Ciaran Mullooly – RTE & RosFM’s The Rossie Way                                                                                                                              Eleanor McEvoy -IMRO

A very big thanks to the Technical Team:                                                                                                                                             Brian Greene. Technical & Production Coordinator, 92.5 Phoenix FM.                                                                                              Paula Healy, Secretary CRAOL and Manager, Flirt FM.                                                                                                                      Mick Cummins, Tech & Training Coordinator, Community Radio Kilkenny City.                                                                  Johnny Callaghan, Swell Audio, Online Mixing & Mastering.                                                                                                        Cathal McCormack Video Editing.

A very special thanks to Declan Gibbons, Craol Chair who was our host for the day and did such a brilliant job on presenting the Achievement Awards and to Dr Rosemary Day who presented the Irish language category the  applications that were submitted as Gaeilge.

Thanks to the CRAOL Coordinating Committee and Community Radio  Kilkenny City and last but by no means least a big thanks to all the Community Radio Stations throughout the country; their Staff, Volunteers and Board Members.


Supported by the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland through the  BAI Sectoral Development Fund




Steve Bennett Comedy                                                                                                                                                                              The Community Foundation for Ireland                                                                                                                                                 Sina Theil Music                                                                                                                                                                                    Camogie Ireland                                                                                                                                                                                          Swell Audio                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              IMRO


(Visited 318 times, 1 visits today)